Oatmeal Cookies with Molasses

I’m a newbie baker and cookies they say are for the uninitiated like me.  So far, I can count with one hand how many times I’ve baked cookies and with all of them, I was cocky and stubborn enough not to follow the baking instructions to a T.  ;P

You see, I wanted more than the usual oatmeal cookies.  So I did some tweaking here and substitutions there.  It wasn’t all unfounded since I’ve read about people who have actually substituted butter and margarine with olive oil and used all brown sugar.  I stepped up a little further and made use of blackstrap molasses.

Blackstrap molasses is rich in iron, calcium, potassium, manganese and other minerals making it way better than using brown sugar or honey.  You can read more about it here.

I used my bestfriend E’s tried and tested Quaker Oats’ Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe as a base and did the substitutions from there.  I asked Little Cat to help me with the mixing and he happily obliged.

Were they good? Well,  it’s okay… Honestly, I’m not really confident about them yet.  The ratio and baking times are still issues I have to deal with.

Note: After finishing this post, I made a quick google for molasses cookies. I found one at Joy of Baking.  I’d probably use this as base recipe next time.🙂

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies with Molasses

Leave a Reply

