Our 2nd Week of Good Food

Our second week’s bag of veggies and fruits from Good Food Co. were full of leafy greens and fruits.  I was out for a racket and I forgot to tell dear Hubby to take a picture of the goodies so I’ll just list what the entire bag contained.  I’m writing them down by memory though.  I can’t find where I place the recipe with list that came with the loot.  I hope I will not miss anything…

  • romaine lettuce
  • arugula
  • basil
  • kangkong
  • bayabas
  • ripe papaya weighing 1 kg
  • tomatoes
  • squash
  • kamote
  • ampalaya
  • saluyot leaves
We still had some talbos ng kamote from last week so we really had a leafy week.  We had leafy greens everyday.  Here’s what we had for the week using the goodies:
  • Garden salad with romaine lettuce, arugula, tomatoes with or without basil
  • Sinigang soup for the lazy with kangkong (sinigang mix diluted in water, heat then add the kangkong when it’s just warm enough)
  • Talbos ng kamote with vinegar, tomatoes and onions
  • Pasta with basil
  • Pizza pandesal with arugula and basil
  • Omelet with cheese, tomatoes and basil
  • Pan-grilled Cream dory fillet dry rub with basil and pepper
  • Kamote fries
  • Papaya or bayabas for breakfast
  • Stir-fried Ampalaya
  • Stir-fried Squash with Oyster Mushrooms (The squash does not look anything like the local variety.)
I’m sorry for the low quality photo.  How I wish to have a compact camera  so I can post better photos.  And of course, LC’s antics will be captured in a clearer and high quality photos.  Anyways…
The week’s basket didn’t contain much for the main courses so we had to make a separate trip to the market.  But I’m really happy we had a rather leafy salad week.  Also notable was the romaine lettuce and arugula were wrapped in banana leaves.  I wish all greens will always be wrapped in banana leaves so I can stock up on them.😉  You see, I’m using newspaper to wrap and keep our veggies fresh in the crisper.  We have this issue with our refrigerator so I need to check everyday if the newspaper’s already damp or moist.  I have to change newspapers if they are.  I can surely use some tiny task elimination.🙂

One thought on “Our 2nd Week of Good Food

Leave a Reply

