5-A-Day Books: Trial Run

When we moved in our new apartment, I needed to give LC something which he can touch base to among all the changes happening around him.  His books and toys were then among the first things Hubby and I put in order.

LC's corner in the Sala

LC's corner in the Sala

Reading is one of LC’s favorite activities so I thought we’d do 5-A-Day Books.  I was thinking he’d find some normalcy with it.  The activity will also push me to read to him everyday even if there’s a lot to do.

I found it tricky choosing which five to start on.  I had to consider that LC has his all-time favorites and his seasonal favorites.  We also have a board book shortened version and a full version of some of his storybooks.  Two reading areas are also propped up in our home: one in the sala and another by the bedside.  Finally, with some hesitation, I settled on our first five.  I really don’t know if I picked up the right ones.

5-A-Day Books Trial Run

  • Piggies by Don and Audrey Wood
  • Five Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed by Eileen Christelow
  • Brown Bear Brown Bear What Do You See by Bill Martin and Eric Carle
  • Panda Bear Panda Bear What Do You Hear by Bill Martin and Eric Carle
  • Baby Bear Baby Bear What Do You See by Bill Martin and Eric Carle

Our first day into 5-A-Day was easy.  We were able to read all books through out the day.  The second day was a struggle.  On the third day we were only able to read one book from the lot – Piggies.  On the last days of the week, I pleaded to no avail.  He preferred and demanded to be read his favorites.  At that time it’s Dr. Seuss’ Are You My Mother and Green Eggs And Ham and Marcus Pfister’s Rainbow Fish (both the shortened and full version).

Our initial run of 5-A-Day Books was not a success.  No biggie though.  Maybe the books I chose were not the right combination? Or maybe the activity is not yet age-appropriate for LC.  But he loves books and reading!

Maybe I have to make him understand that there are books we need to read and books we can read at leisure?  But this is supposed to be fun!  We’re not in a school, right? Well, yes.  I guess I’ll just have to put this off and try again some other time.

I have to note though that the idea of reading the same book(s) in a period of time is something we have been doing even before I learned about 5-A-Day Books.  As I have said, LC has his all-time and seasonal favorites.  I have the impression that he knows all his favorites by heart.  He would always anticipate the scenes.  His eyes would light up when his favorite parts come in.  Then he’ll shriek or do what the character would do (jump, run, hug) or grab or point to the stuff that was mentioned (flashlight, brush, etc).  Lately, he’d also say some of the words too.  Like in Are You My Mother, he’d say ‘No’ and something that sounds like ‘I will! I will!’  Happiness! 🙂

So we are actually getting the same results.  But just the same, we could use 5-A-Day to have some structure in our daily reading.  I want us to read other books too.  Reading the same books every day for a month can get tiresome. ;p Maybe later in the year I’d give 5-A-Day another try.

4 thoughts on “5-A-Day Books: Trial Run

Leave a Reply

