Thoughts on Emergencies and Other Things

As I was in a jeepney to EDSA on my way to MIBF, a medium-built good looking man in his 40’s boarded and seated himself in front of me.  I took notice because he looks like a “half-breed” and I was wondering if he’s a homo or not.  Minutes along the way, he moved his glasses from his eyes to the top of his head, bowed down, placed a hand over his face and started sobbing.

I thought of comforting words to say and if I should say them.  As I did, his eyeglasses fell on the jeepney floor.  He was still crying.  I hesitated on picking up his glasses.  When I finally moved to do so, one of his arms dropped.  Seconds later his whole body was sprawled on the floor, unconscious.

A lot of things happened simultaneously and there after.

“Lasing ata (He’s probably drunk),” said one of the male passengers.

“Ano nangyari? (What happened?),” asked the driver at the front and the conductor stationed at the back of the jeepney.

“Umiiyak sya kanina (He was crying awhile ago),” I replied.

The female passenger beside the unconscious man moved and transferred to a seat away from his body.

“Tingnan nyo kung may pulso (Check if he has a pulse).”  I went to feel for his pulse.

“Dalhin na sa ospital. (Bring him to the hospital.)

“Lumagpas na yung Mission Hospital. (We’ve already passed by Mission Hospital.)

We we’re some meters past the hospital so the jeepney went on reverse amidst the oncoming traffic.   The conductor directed the jeepney as it backed off.   The pipe underlay improvement in works at the middle of the road made it more difficult.  A male passenger realized that and he got off to assist the conductor.  The same passenger also asked help from the traffic enforcer stationed near by.  He also ran ahead to the hospital and notified the emergency staff.

Suddenly, the man sat up and regained consciousness.  He looked surprised but tears were still flowing from his eyes.

“Baka kailangan nya ng tubig. (Maybe he needs water.)”  I took out my water bottle and offered it to him.  He motioned his hands in refusal.

“Miss, wag!  Baka saktan ka.  (Miss, don’t!  He might hurt you.)

A female passenger irritably blurted, “Pwede ba bumaba nalang sya.  Nakakaabala sa ibang pasahero. (Could he just get off.  He’s a hassle to other passengers.)

Then the man dropped unconscious, again.  Arms and head limp.

“Lasing talaga siguro ‘to. (Definitely, he’s probably drunk.)

“Ano ba yan?! (What the heck?!)

With a shorter interval this time, the man sat up again.  Then a few seconds after, went unconscious for the third time.  By then we were at the front of the hospital.  The conductor and two other male passengers dragged him out of the jeepney and sat him on a wheel chair.  A medical staff from the hospital wheeled him in and another asked the conductor what happened.  The passenger who was very helpful volunteered himself for the questioning.  We drove off leaving the two behind.  The man did not know the unconscious.  He was just a fellow passenger.

As the jeepney went off, a lot of murmurs and assumptions floated.  It died down when a deluge of passengers boarded.

I had my own thoughts of course.   I should have been more confident to check for his pulse under his chin.  Honestly, I did not felt it on his wrist.  I should have asked asked help to straighten him out.  He was lying curled up all the time.  I should have given him some sort of comfort.  A simple pat maybe.  Things could have turned out differently.  Should haves, could haves.  But four things nag me until I got to my destination:

  • People definitely see and react to things differently.  Some are just observers.  Some We I can be a bitch sometimes.  Alternatively, we can always choose to be pro-active in a positive way.
  • There are good samaritans.
  • Hubby and I need a refresher on 1st Aid and Basic Life Support.  It’s high time we do, with LC now in our lives.
And last but not the least,
  • I sincerely pray that if ever I am or my love ones be in an emergency or depressing situation, there will be people – good samaritans – who will care enough and act to help.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Emergencies and Other Things

  1. Yellow Elephant says:

    any updates on what happened to the man? I would not know what to do too if I was there. Good job in helping the man. I hope he is okay. Take care always.

Leave a Reply

