I Rather Teach Him How

to climb and slide down the bed the safest way I know, than refrain him from doing so.  It is the same thing with chairs and stairs.  I am well aware of the safety issues, but I believe shielding him from possible harm does not make things any better.

So at 8 months old, LC has been been sliding down the bed with confidence.  It was an important milestone for me.  I worried less over him falling from the bed.  Weeks after, he learned and found different means to climb up the bed.  That includes pushing a box to step on.

Also at 8 months, he’s been climbing the whole flight of stairs on fours.  At 10 months, he learned to go down the stairs sideways,  both hands holding the balusters.  Since then, he’s been climbing everywhere.  Of course he still gets scratches and bumps.  Nothing major though.  I think he learned to protect himself in the process.

When we moved in our apartment, I worry little about the stairs.  What did get me fidgety were plugs and sockets.  And the kitchen.  I gave him lessons about them.

BUT honestly, I’m thinking if I did right.  Maybe I should have just banned him from those.   Here’s a “Huli Ka! Ano na namang ginagawa mo?” scene this morning.

Leave a Reply

