Trial Run with Emporium Antipolo’s Organic Produce

We had a good experience with Good Food Co. but as planned from the beginning, we will try other suppliers to see which and what set-up best suits our household. So after our trial with Good Food, we went on with Emporium Antipolo.

Emporium Antipolo was next in our shortlist because of the following:

  • they do deliveries
  • there’s no commitment for succeeding orders
  • with respect to our location, they’re the nearest supplier I know, and
  • one can choose among the available produce what and how much of each to order. One can order by bunch, pieces or by weight.

Minimum purchase is worth Php 600. Delivery charge is Php 50. Deliveries are on Saturdays and Sundays.

Here was our first bag of goodies from Emporium Antipolo:

Bag of goods from Emporium Antipolo

Bag of goods from Emporium Antipolo

They provided the eco bag (re-used Dole bag). I’m not sure though if succeeding and all orders come with a bag.

The veggies and herbs looked great.

Arugula, lettuce, dill, eggplant, upo, kalabasa, sitaw, green bell peppers, cucumber, french beans and tomatoes with free siling pansigang

Prior to the delivery, I sent them an email inquiry, but I never received any reply. Finally, I thought of sending them an SMS (mobile number: 0920-9287270). Kristine Garcia, one of the proprietors of Emporium Antipolo, replied right away. And she’s accommodating if I may say. I asked her if the Php 600 can include the Php50 delivery charge, and she said yes. I asked her if they can deliver the goodies at a particular time, and they actually did. All our correspondence were done thru SMS.

I have to note that weekly updates for what’s available is not regulaly posted at the Emporium Antipolo FB page. It seems they’re not so active in marketing through that page. What’s more updated about weekly produce and new products is Kristine’s personal account.

Moving on, I placed my order on a per weight basis. I expected that actual weight and total amount will vary since it will be practically hard to meet orders down to the last 0.00. When I got the goods, the actual total amount did change. It was around 30 pesos less than I accounted for. When I asked about it, Kristine told me the farmer’s prices got cheaper that day. What’s amusing was when I studied my bill (the yellow piece of paper), I saw no price difference from what she gave me to the actual price that day. Only weight adjustments.

Anyhow, I will order from Emporium Antipolo again because of convenience. For me, the only challenge I see is getting the right amount of veggies to order. And that’s no different when I go to the wet market or grocery. As for the available weekly produce, if I don’t see enough veggies or greens that interest me, I can just get our fill from SM organic section or at the neighborhood talipapa (not organic though).

One thought on “Trial Run with Emporium Antipolo’s Organic Produce

  1. Marjorie O. Rivera says:

    June 24, 2014

    Sir/Madame:

    Greetings from MFI Farm Business Institute (MFI FBI)!

    MFI FBI is one of the education centers of the MFI Foundation Inc. (formerly Meralco Foundation Inc.) engaged in agribusiness education and training. We have lined up “Sa Agri-Negosyo Sayo ang Asenso Livelihood Seminar/Workshops” for 2014 – 2015 that will encourage you to venture into agribusiness that augment your income.
    · Urban Gardening – July 17 – 18, 2014
    · Mushroom Production – August 20 – 22, 2014
    · Bamboo Rehabilitation and Nursery Establishment – September 18-19, 2014
    · Investment Opportunities in Malunggay – November 19-20, 2014
    · Bonsai Gardening – February 18, 2015

    For any additional information and inquiries, please feel free to email us atbessiegolla_lampano@yahoo.com and riveramajoe@yahoo.com or call 631-2444 and look for Ms. Bessie G. Lampano or Marjorie O. Rivera.

    We hope to hear from you soon.

    Best regards,

    BESSIE G. LAMPANO
    Supervisor, Training Management Department
    MFI Farm Business Institute
    MFI Foundation, Inc.

Leave a Reply

